Sympathy, Empathy and Compassion, Part 1

Excerpt from the book: What Do You Mean the Third Dimension is Going Away? 

The third-dimensional chakras operate as barometers of balance or imbalance. If you know what they do, you will have an opportunity to refocus your attention and begin to realign yourself. All seven major chakras support us, but for most of us, the lower three chakras guide the life we experience.

First chakra: Survival

The first chakra’s job is to keep you safe so that you may fulfill your purpose in this lifetime. If you are threatened and it’s not the exit point of your life, the first chakra overrides everything to keep you safe. It will activate the flight or fight mechanism and cause you to jump back onto the curb before the bus hits you. The first chakra is located at the lowest tip of your spine.

Second chakra: Emotions

The second chakra deals with the lower emotions (neediness, jealousy, resentment, addictions, and grief ) plus sexuality and sensuality. This chakra is located two finger’s width below your navel and back toward the spine.

Third chakra: Power, Control, Judgment, and Resistance
If you find your solar plexus region in pain, it may not be acid indigestion. This chakra is telling you that you are out of balance, in a push-and-shove (power and control) situation. If you are resisting or judging something at a high enough degree, the third chakra area will be blocked and/or in pain.

Together, the lower three chakras support sympathy and empathy. These two third-dimensional reactions are based on past experiences. They tell you where you are in relation to your safety and to fitting in emotionally, as well as in relation to your well-being, and to how you are accepted by others. This is the job of empathy and sympathy.


Empathy is the ability to feel the emotional and physical pain others are experiencing. Many new-age lightworkers take great pride in, and are glamorized by, their ability to feel others’ pain physically. They see it as a useful way to read the energy of others and to heal them. Eventually, by continuing to choose to bring pain into your body, you will damage your health and well-being. Carrying pain will increase your aging process and wear you down.

Empathy is a second chakra, third-dimensional means of determining if the person who stands before you is safe for you to interact with. The second chakra reads the energy of the other person to determine their mood, attitude, emotional/mental stability, and to determine whether being near them is safe. It’s the job of your first chakra, not your second, to keep you and your body safe. Using your second chakra for this job (empathy) becomes a burden and interferes with your well-being and balance.


Sympathy is the internal, third-dimensional, emotional reaction to observing another’s pain. You feel sorry, concerned, sad, worried, and troubled by what they are going through. Sympathy is not feeling their pain in your body; it is a lower second chakra reaction to it, felt within your emotional body. The habit of sympathy will destroy your emotional balance and eventually your physical well-being also.

Neither sympathy nor empathy will benefit your friend in pain. The pain on their path exists for them to leverage for their own greater personal mastery. Nothing you can worry about, feel or take on for them will positively affect their journey.

This is an excerpt from the book, What Do You Mean the Third Dimension is Going Away?  by Jim Self and Roxane Burnett



Keep updated with Spirit Library

Author Information

Jim Self

The co-founder of A Course in Mastering Alchemy, and an international speaker and author, Jim Self has been leading seminars and teaching healing, clairvoyance and personal energy management courses since 1980.

Books from Jim Self

A Course in Mastering Alchemy Cover image
Jim Self , Roxane Burnett
Spirit Matters Cover image
Jim Self


Jim Self Archives